Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by hristoitchov on Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:45 pm

In what areas does the "name:" characteristic actually applies and in what it doesn't? Deck, Hand, Chakra, Discard, Field (in play), etc.? I do have my opinion and memories on it, but perhaps someone who remembers (with 100% certainty) the advanced rulings could clear this up, once and for all.

hristoitchov

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:34 pm

"name:" characteristic actually applies everywhere especially in play

zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by hristoitchov on Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:42 pm

That doesn't explain much. If it applies everywhere, it would go against the only 3 in deck rule. From what I recall, the name: characteristic is only in effect when the ninja is in play, nowhere else, unless explicitly stated on a card.

hristoitchov

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:51 pm

when making a legal deck you can only have 3 cards of the same name.

the characteristic "Name" does not apply for building a deck so with that you are able to have up to 16 sasuke uchiha in ur deck but all with different names.

now when it comes to cards that say "search for ninja card name X, put in play ninja card with X name, discard ninja card name X" you can search for any copy of the 16 sasuke you have in ur deck even the ones with characteristic "Name: sasuke Uchiha" the same is true for the other effects.

zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by EasternSun on Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:57 pm

Putting aside Platoons, which cant be put in play except by the strict rules for playing a Platoon, lets try this. You have a card that says put in play Danzo...You have 6th Hokage in hand, which is 6th Hokage , but has a name characteristic Danzo...can you put him in play via this effect, even though his printed name is not Danzo...I remember there were this sort of questions on the old forums and the answer was no.
avatar
EasternSun

Posts : 13
Join date : 2017-04-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:02 pm

yes you can put him in play its the same reason you can put in play shukaku with sand cacoon


Old sand cacoon

New Sand Cacoon

shukaku

zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by hristoitchov on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:12 pm

Those links are not working.

hristoitchov

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by hristoitchov on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:16 pm

I checked the cards, so again my question stands - in what area do the cards have or not have, the characteristic name in effect? And also, those Gaara examples, they are rather old cards and the ruling about names was posted in around 2012-2013, so I'm not convinced it is as you say. I clearly remember a ruling that stated that the name characteristic only comes in effect while the ninja is in play, but nowhere else. Perhaps the rule was changed at some point in time and made that combo impossible?

hristoitchov

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by EasternSun on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:18 pm

That would require Name characteristic to be in effect while in the deck. If it aint applied for building a deck it only looks printed name while in a deck...this seemed logical to me. Its very weird for me that effects can work like that and create totally OP situations like your example...so I can put in play Shukaku on turn 0...yea that must be the intention. Thanks for the info and effort though. Smile
avatar
EasternSun

Posts : 13
Join date : 2017-04-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:23 pm

EasternSun wrote:That would require Name characteristic to be in effect while in the deck. If it aint applied for building a deck it only looks printed name while in a deck...this seemed logical to me. Its very weird for me that effects can work like that and create totally OP situations like your example...so I can put in play Shukaku on turn 0...yea that must be the intention. Thanks for the info though.

the deck was called high speed shukaku and was remade 2 times onces in unlimited and the second time in block the reprinted the gaara it was a turn 2 combo but then it all rotated and now u can do it on turn 0

OG gaara


zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:36 pm

hristoitchov wrote:I checked the cards, so again my question stands - in what area do the cards have or not have, the characteristic name in effect? And also, those Gaara examples, they are rather old cards and the ruling about names was posted in around 2012-2013, so I'm not convinced it is as you say. I clearly remember a ruling that stated that the name characteristic only comes in effect while the ninja is in play, but nowhere else. Perhaps the rule was changed at some point in time and made that combo impossible?

i feel ur getting things a bit confused there was a rule that said platoons and squads when they are in play they gain "Name:X & Name:Y"

zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by hristoitchov on Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:33 pm

No confusion, no. My question is when exactly does the name characteristic work and when it doesn't. For example, this platoon:

http://naruto.lineage2universe.com/images/cards/n633.jpg

Can you take The Sage (name: Might Guy) from your deck with it?

Is there a difference between cards worded differently, for example some cards state 1 "XYZ" from your deck, other 1 XYZ ninja card, and so on.

hristoitchov

Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-03-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by zXMARDOXz on Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:04 pm

yes you can grab sage because effects looks for the card name and/or characteristic: name

i really cant explain why this rule works the way it does i just kno how its been rules since forever

zXMARDOXz
Adviser & Judge

Posts : 87
Join date : 2017-02-25

View user profile http://naruto-ccg-op.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Printed Name vs. Name Characteristic

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum